Archive for October 8th, 2020

Vintage Computing Festival Berlin 2020

October 8, 2020

In contrast to some other events, the VCFB 2020 will actually take place. This weekend (depending on when you read this), on October 10th and 11th, it will take place via a Wiki, BigBlueButton, and some streaming.

Find all important information on https://wiki.vcfb.de/2020/start?id=en:start

Most exhibitions, presentations and workshops are in German, but there are also some English things:

I will also hold a presentation (on “Collecting Computers as an hobby: An Introduction“), but it will be given in German (as some information relates to the German situation).

Also, I will moderate an event on “Technology Museums and Collectors: Question Time“, but again, in German, because these are German museums.

Siemens Nixdorf PCD-3 Psl/20

October 8, 2020

Recently, on Ebay I discovered a variant of the NCR 3125 that I did not know: the Siemens Nixdorf PCD-3 Psl/20.

I did not buy it, but from the picture it seems quite clear that this is, in fact, a NCR 3125. Also, the name seems to hint to the 3125′ 80386SL CPU at 20 MHz…

Update (21.03.2021): Actually this is a NCR 3130, not a NCR 3125. It says “SNI 3130” in the boot menu and has the backlit display. Which I know because now I own one.